
Tools and providers
Part of Choosing social listening tools and providers when coverage is only a claim
Five social listening tools compared on supplier claims and source questions
Compare five social listening tool records without a ranking, using supplier claims, source questions, exclusions and buyer tests for England.
What to take away
- All five tools reviewed here, Brandwatch, Meltwater, Talkwalker, Sprout Social and Brand24, market listening or monitoring functions; none publishes a full source list or a list price on its product page.
- Compare them on one gridrequired sources, returned fields, history depth, export rights and quoted package.
- Sentiment accuracy, 'real time' and volume statements stay untested claims until a fixed-clock test and a human-labelled sample support them.
- Mark any row the supplier will not evidence as unknown, so a missing source is not confused with a source that lacks a required field.
- Agree the exit route before signing; Implementing a social listening tool so that launch can be reversed covers reversal planning.
Five tools compared on one grid
The table records what each supplier states on its own product page. The brandsignal.co.uk editorial desk checked first-party pages on 5 September 2026. No account, API, price, source coverage or label quality was tested, and no supplier paid for inclusion.
Source verification register
Brandwatch
- Source schedule
- Request
- Query syntax
- Test
- Location derivation
- Inspect
- Deletion behaviour
- Inspect
- Export rights
- Request
- Unknown row
- Mark
Meltwater
- Source schedule
- Confirm
- Query syntax
- Test
- Location derivation
- Confirm
- Deletion behaviour
- Confirm
- Export rights
- Confirm
- Unknown row
- Mark
Talkwalker
- Source schedule
- Separate
- Query syntax
- Test
- Location derivation
- Test
- Deletion behaviour
- Test
- Export rights
- Test
- Unknown row
- Mark
Sprout Social
- Source schedule
- Ask
- Query syntax
- Test
- Location derivation
- Ask
- Deletion behaviour
- Ask
- Export rights
- Ask
- Unknown row
- Mark
Sources stated on the reviewed page
- Brandwatch Consumer Research
- Query collection plus uploaded text; no source list
- Meltwater Social Listening
- Cross-channel monitoring described; no source list
- Talkwalker Social Listening
- Text and visual listening claimed separately
- Sprout Social Listening
- Coverage tied to connected profiles
- Brand24
- Filters and automated topics; no source list
Fields, history and labels
- Brandwatch Consumer Research
- Categorisation and dashboards; history not stated
- Meltwater Social Listening
- Competitor views and AI-supported analysis
- Talkwalker Social Listening
- Clustering and automated sentiment
- Sprout Social Listening
- Filtering and analysis for brands, competitors and topics
- Brand24
- Alerts plus automated topic and sentiment functions
Exports
- Brandwatch Consumer Research
- Exports listed as a function
- Meltwater Social Listening
- Rights to be confirmed in writing
- Talkwalker Social Listening
- Not stated on the page
- Sprout Social Listening
- Plan dependent
- Brand24
- Report exports listed
Quoted package
- Brandwatch Consumer Research
- Not published
- Meltwater Social Listening
- Not published
- Talkwalker Social Listening
- Not published
- Sprout Social Listening
- Not published
- Brand24
- Not published
A blank cell means the page is silent, not that a capability is absent.
Where source coverage is known and where it is not
- Brandwatchquery collection and uploaded text are named, which points to a mix of platform and owned data; the page does not itemise platforms or history depth.
- Meltwatercross-channel monitoring and AI-supported analysis are marketed, but no platform list or retention period appears.
- Talkwalkerit is the only one of the five claiming visual listening, so image and video coverage must be tested apart from text.
- Sprout Socialcoverage follows the profiles a buyer connects. The Listening feature page describes queries, filtering and analysis, with permissions sitting upstream of the tool.
- Brand24filters and automated topics are listed, yet the plan-level retention period is known only from the written quote.
Coverage disputes usually come down to permission rather than technology. Two of the five, Brandwatch and Sprout Social, are worked through side by side in the Brandwatch against Sprout Social comparison, which shows how one research configuration reshapes the choice.
Upstream terms constrain every supplier. X's current developer policy ties access to contractual and approved-use conditions, so a source shown on a marketing page may be unavailable under your contract.
Pricing and licensing: nothing published
None of the five reviewed pages carries a list price, a per-seat rate or a per-mention rate. Each routes the buyer to a sales conversation. Ask for the licensing unit, the minimum term, the included query or mention volume and the modules priced separately.
A quote that names a unit (seat, query, mention or dashboard) and a term is comparable. A quote that names only a monthly figure is not.
Personal data inside a monitoring dataset still attracts UK GDPR duties. The ICO's UK GDPR guidance and resources hub covers lawful processing, and retention in a listening platform is a processing decision rather than a product setting.
How to test the claims before you sign
- Write down the decision the tool must support and the sources that decision needs.
- Give every candidate the same low-risk query, period and inclusion rules.
- Run a fixed-clock test for 'real time' and a human-labelled sample for sentiment.
- Request a written source schedule, field schedule, history depth and export rights per package.
- Record documentation, demonstrations and test results in separate registers.
A source-by-source register needs an owner, and the roles and source access guide sets out who holds each row. A second register should hold outputs: alerts, raw export, a reproducible chart or human-coded evidence, each with its counted unit, period, denominator and exclusions.
Output register requirements
- Specify alerts, raw export, reproducible chart or human-coded evidence
- Require counted unit, period, denominator and exclusions
- Reject candidate without mandatory source route
- Reject candidate without rights workflow
- Reject candidate without security control or exit
- Named reviewers assess final evidence
Common questions
What did the editorial desk actually review?
It reviewed first-party product pages on 5 September 2026. A product qualified if the supplier publicly described listening or monitoring functions and a buyer could request a demonstration. Publishing-only services and unverified reseller claims were excluded.
Which of the five publishes a source list or a price?
None of the five reviewed pages itemises sources or shows list pricing. Request both in writing, against the exact package you would buy.
How should I test a supplier's sentiment or real-time claim?
Give the supplier a fixed clock and a sample you have labelled by hand. Compare its output with your labels, then repeat the test on the package you are quoted.



